top of page
Search
  • dean4761

Summer ceps and other mushroom shenanigans

Late July and we are walking around our local green space as we walk I can smell the mycelium, like a truffle dog hitting the scent I open my pace to find two blocks of thin wooded areas. The wooded area have a familiar mushroomy look about them, I spot an amanita poking up through the ground like a little egg o joy. I know this is a good sign as it normally for me indicates royalty, I walk scanning the ground foraging pouch open, opinel knife in hand constantly observing the canopy I reach a beech tree surrounded by oak I glance to the floor and jackpot!! He is here all hail the second king of the mushrooms boletus reticulatus. After I have gathered my self and allowed the excitement to pass I cut the mushroom at the base and gently put him in the pouch all the while thinking how best to respect him what flavour would suit him best , as soon as I stand my eyes are drawn to another and another and another it's only then I realise I'm in heaven. I also noticed that the amanita is a tawny grisset another edible that soon went into the pouch.


As you can see just from that little true story of a recent foray the technique I often use to find these beautiful mushrooms are observation a constant recognition of habitat and terrain, opening up all my senses to the environment and allowing time to work its magic.

Always be 100% sure of identification when mushroom foraging!

If in doubt leave it out!!!

Written by

Dean Millard

Lead instructor

The feral yamyam bushcraft school


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page